+

Ethics Reading Courses

Take a deep dive into ethics, one book at a time

No matter how busy you are, you can work ethics into your schedule with a quarter-credit Prindle Ethics Reading Course. In these courses, you’ll read and discuss with your professor and classmates a single work to enhance your understanding of the field of ethics or an individual ethical issue. These quarter-credit ethics reading courses allow students to easily weave an ethics component throughout their curriculum while at DePauw. Consult the Schedule of Courses to register for one of these courses today!

Ethics Reading Courses Information

A professor and some of her students seated around a table in a heated discussion
Make ethics a part of your DePauw experience

Register for one of these courses today! Find them listed in DePauw’s Schedule of Courses just like any other class.

Classes meet for the first eight weeks of the semester. Class meeting spaces are noted next to each listing. If the class meets at the Prindle Institute, free transportation will be provided each evening the class meets. Transportation departs from the Union Building each Thursday at 6:50 p.m. and returns to the Union Building from Prindle after the class ends at 8:30 p.m.

Please note that the information below is subject to change. Please consult the Schedule of Courses for the most accurate and updated information.

Spring 2019 Ethics Reading Courses

UNIV291A: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks: What’s at Stake?
Instructor: Leslie James (ljames@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Wednesdays of Spring 2019, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291B: Bernard Mandeville, The Fable of the Bees, Or Private Vices, Public Benefits
Instructor: David Alvarez (davidalvarez@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Thursdays of Spring 2019, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291C: Benjamin Huff, The Tao of Pooh
Instructor: Tim Good (tgood@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Mondays of Spring 2019, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291D: Jonathan Haidt and Greg Lukianoff, The Coddling of the American Mind
Instructor: Marcia McKelligan (mamck@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Wednesdays of Spring 2019, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291E: Jared Diamond, Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies
Instructor: Lydia Marshall (lydiamarshall@depauw.edu)
Meets in Asbury 007 the first eight Tuesdays of Spring 2019, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291G: Cathy O’Neil, Weapons of Math Destruction
Instructor: Steven Bogaerts (stevenbogaerts@depauw.edu)
Meets in Julian 245 the first eight Tuesdays of Spring 2019, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291H: Thucydides, History of the Peloponnesian War
Instructor: Michael Seaman (mseaman@depauw.edu)
Meets on campus (location noted in the Schedule of Courses) the first eight Tuesdays of Spring 2019 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291J: The Girl at the Baggage Claim: Explaining the East-West Culture Gap by Gish Jen
Instructor: Lynn Ishikawa (lynnishikawa@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Thursdays of Spring 2019, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291K: Assholes: A Theory by Aaron James
Instructor: Maureen Knudsen Langdoc (mknudsenlangdoc@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room and day TBD) the first eight weeks of Spring 2019, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291M: The Ethics of Practice with Minors: High Stakes, Hard Choices by Kim Strom-Gottfried
Instructor: Patti Stauffer  (stauffer@appe-ethics.org)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Wednesdays of Spring 2019, 7-8:30 p.m.

Fall 2018 Ethics Reading Courses

UNIV291A: Theodor Adorno, Can One Live After Auschwitz?
Instructor: David Alvarez (davidalvarez@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Thursdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291B: Glenn Greenwald, No Place to Hide: Edward Snowden, the NSA, and the U.S. Surveillance State
Instructor: Caroline Good (cgood@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Thursdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291C: Piers Ibbotson, The Illusion of Leadership
Instructor: Tim Good (tgood@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Thursdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291D: Stuart Hall, The Fateful Triangle: Race, Ethnicity, Nation
Instructor: Leslie R. James (ljames@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Wednesdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291E: The Bhagavad Gita
Instructor: Tamara Pollack (tpollack@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute (room TBD) the first eight Wednesdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291F: Jason De León, The Land of Open Graves: Living and Dying on the Migrant Trail
Instructor: Angela Castañeda
Meets on campus (location noted in the Schedule of Courses) the first eight Thursdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291G: Nirmala Erevelles, Disability and difference in global contexts: Enabling a transformative body politic
Instructor: Derek Ford (derekford@depauw.edu)
Meets on campus (location noted in the Schedule of Courses) the first eight Wednesdays of Fall 2018, 6-7:30 p.m.

UNIV291H: Sun Tzu, The Art of War
Instructor: Sherry Mou
Meets on campus (location noted in the Schedule of Courses) the first eight Tuesdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30 p.m.

UNIV291I: Robert Post, Who Owns America’s Past?: The Smithsonian and the Problem of History
Instructor: Craig Hadley (craighadley@depauw.edu)
Meets in Peeler (room TBD) the first seven Tuesdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30 p.m.

Visit Us.

LOCATION

2961 W County Road 225 S
Greencastle, IN 46135
P: (765) 658-4075

GET DIRECTIONS

BUILDING HOURS

Sunday: 12PM - 9PM
Monday - Friday: 8AM - 7PM

Monday - Friday: 8AM - 5PM