← Return to search results
+

2024 Indiana High School Ethics Bowl Schedule and Information

Competition Schedule

Detailed match-up schedule

(Match-ups will be posted on the morning of the competition)

Saturday, February 3, 2024

7:30 – 8:15 a.m. Check-In Hoover Hall: Wallace-Stewart Commons
7:30 – 8:30 a.m. Breakfast Hoover Hall: Main Dining Room
8:45 – 9:00 a.m. Welcome Julian: Atrium
9:10 – 10:20 a.m. Round 1 Julian: Floors 1 & 3
10:30 – 11:40 a.m. Round 2 Julian: Floors 1 & 3
11:50 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. Round 3 Julian: Floors 1 & 3
1:15 – 2:30 p.m. Lunch Prindle Institute: Great Room
2:10 – 2:30 p.m. Coaches Meeting Prindle Institute: Auditorium Lobby
2:30 p.m. Finalists announced Prindle Institute: Great Room
2:45 – 3:50 p.m. Quarter-finals Prindle Institute & Bartlett Reflection Center
4:00 – 5:05 p.m. Semi-finals Prindle Institute
5:15 – 6:20 p.m. Finals Prindle Institute: Auditorium

Important Information

Map of DePauw University Campus

A detailed map of the campus, including Hoover Hall and Julian, can be accessed here.

Directions from Julian to the Prindle Institute

If using a maps app, type in “Prindle Institute for Ethics.” Do not use our address, as it often leads to the wrong location.

  • Exit the Julian parking lot on Hanna Street heading west, towards Blackstock Stadium.
  • Turn left onto Jackson Street.
  • Continue on Jackson Street for 0.6 miles.
  • Turn right onto County Road 200 S (look for black and yellow sign for the Prindle Institute and Nature Park).
  • Follow the road until you reach the Prindle Institute gates.
  • Enter gates and immediately turn right into the parking lot.
  • Take the switchback trail to walk up to the building.

NOTE: Accessible parking is located on the circular parking lot in front of the building.

Contact Numbers

Emily Knuth, Associate Director: (765) 720-5352

Jeff Dunn, Director: (765) 720-0419

Quick Bites

Starbucks: 6 a.m. – 2 p.m., 2 E. Washington Street

Myers’ Market (deli sandwiches and soups): 9 a.m. – 3 p.m., 302 E. Washington Street

TapHouse Burgers (fries, burgers and shakes): 11:30 a.m. – 9:30 p.m., 24 Indiana Street

Marvin’s (fries, pizza and the legendary garlic cheeseburger):  5:00 p.m. – 12:00 a.m., 202 S. College Ave.

Taco Wapo (burritos, TexMex): 11:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m., 306 E. Washington Street

 

Letter from the Director

Dear High School Ethics Bowlers,

We are so excited to welcome you to DePauw University and the Prindle Institute for Ethics for the 10th Annual Indiana High School Ethics Bowl! Our 10th anniversary is an important milestone and we thank you for being here with us.

High School Ethics Bowl cultivates a set of important skills that are currently in short supply. As an ethics bowler you learn how to consider multiple perspectives and evaluate different viewpoints. You learn to be critical and offer incisive criticism in good faith. And you learn how one’s first reaction to a case may evolve after collaborative discussion with others. These skills are important because they contribute to a well-rounded and flourishing human life. But they are important for other reasons, too.

There has been a recent focus on instilling civic norms, with worries that these civic norms are deteriorating in ways that threaten democracy. Employers are concerned about this, schools and colleges are concerned about this, and recent opinion polls suggest that average Americans are concerned about this, too. But when we see the kind of reasoned, collaborative discussions at High School Ethics Bowl, there is reason for hope. The skills you develop during Ethics Bowl not only benefit you, they also benefit us all.

Have a great time today. I have been a judge for High School Ethics Bowl for many years and have seen the tremendous preparation that goes into competing. Even before your first round you should be proud of the preparation that got you to this point. Please feel free to reach out to me at any time to talk about more opportunities to continue thinking carefully about ethics, including our Prindle Ethics Scholarships. The Prindle Institute is excited to partner with students and educators who are passionate about this work.

Best wishes,
Jeffrey Dunn
Phyllis W. Nicholas Director

Participating Schools

Ben Davis High School Gary Peters gary.peters@wayne.k12.in.us
Cloverdale High School Chelsey Meluch cmeluch@cloverdale.k12.in.us
Culver Academies Evan Dutmer evan.dutmer@culver.org
Danville Community High School Michelle Henry mhenry@danville.k12.in.us
Fishers High School Chris Edwards cedwards@hse.k12.in.us
Greencastle High School Ted Bitner tedbitner@depauw.edu
Herron High School Dave Pappas dpappas@herronhighschool.org
Indiana Academy for Science, Mathematics, and Humanities Josh Ruark jjruark@bsu.edu
Purdue Polytechnic High School Jacob Waterman jwaterman@pphs.purdue.edu
South Putnam High School Leah Henry lhenry@sputnam.k12.in.us
Zionsville Community High School Danielle Wilson dwilson@zcs.k12.in.us

Visit Us.

LOCATION

2961 W County Road 225 S
Greencastle, IN 46135
765.658.5857

DIRECTIONS

BUILDING HOURS

Monday - Friday: 8:00AM - 5:00PM
Saturday-Sunday: closed